The Wickham House is a spectacular example of 19th century Federal architecture and displays some of the country's finest examples of interior decorative painting. Listed as a National Historic Landmark, the Wickham House, built by John Wickham, illustrates the lives of one of Richmond’s most prominent families. The Wickham House was purchased by Mann Valentine Jr. and in 1898 became the first home of the Valentine Museum.
Guided tours of the first and second floors of the house are offered with admission to the History Center and allow visitors to explore the public and private world of the Wickham household.
Artifacts from the family are exhibited on the second floor of the house. Admission also allows access to a self-guided tour of the basement level* of the house to examine the enslaved servants lives and private spaces. Access is available through the museum’s ground-floor galleries.
*Please note that the basement is currently closed during the renovation of our public spaces and galleries.
The Wickham House book is available in our Gift Shop.
Read about the Wickham House on other web sites such as: